Each year, SURF and the Scottish Government team up to deliver the SURF Awards for Best Practice in Community Regeneration. SURF Awards are presented to regeneration projects that are independently judged to be making a real difference in disadvantaged communities across Scotland.

We conclude the process with a celebratory Presentation Dinner event in December. This year, we are pleased to confirm the diverse initiatives shortlisted in each of the five new SURF Awards categories for 2012:

Community Led Regeneration

  • Camglen Radio (South Lanarkshire)
  • Loanhead Community Learning Centre (Midlothian)
  • Pennyburn Youth Development Enterprise (Ayrshire)

Sustainable Place

  • Govanhill Transitional Employment & Environmental Sustainability Initiative (Glasgow)
  • Lochgelly Small Town Initiative (Fife)
  • Scapa Flow Landscape Partnership Team (Orkney)

Infrastructure and Regeneration

  • Fauldhouse Partnership Centre (West Lothian)
  • Isle of Gigha Heritage Trust (Argyll & Bute)
  • Lomondgate (West Dunbartonshire)

Creative Regeneration

  • DightyConnect (Dundee)
  • Govan Waymarkers (Glasgow)
  • Kirkton Woodland and Heritage Group (Wester Ross)

YESS to Jobs (Youth Employability and Skills Services)

  • Creative Pathways Programme (Scotland-wide)
  • DEAP Ltd (Dundee)
  • ng2 (Glasgow)

The five winning projects will be announced at the Presentation Dinner on Wednesday 12 December in Glasgow, where they will be presented with SURF Award certificates by leading Scottish Government Minister Derek Mackay.

All 15 shortlisted projects will be featured in a special SURF Awards publication that will be distributed widely after the event.